Handle With Care

Yesterday I wrote about holding London for the first time. Today I thought it appropriate to share a video of picking London up directly from her isolette. The video shows me doing this for the first time. The day of the first hold, I was seated in the chair already when the nurses placed London on my chest. Although that was complicated, it is a far more perilous task to pick London up out of the isolette and then move backwards with her to the chair and sit down. The most worrisome aspect of all this is the kink that can form in the oxygen tube when we move London. If that tube is not supported properly once she is on our chests it can once again kink.

When London was vented, it took about five or six minutes to move her and get her situated on us so that both London and parent were comfortable. I trimmed this video to just the first two minutes. At the beginning, you’ll be able to hear a lot of chatter about my height. This happened a lot in the NICU, but as our time there continued all the staff grew accustomed to my height, at least to the extent that they didn’t feel the need to tell me I was tall. If the video appears as huge on your screen as it does on mine, so big that you cannot see the whole video on your screen, press play (middle of frame), and then just click the full screen icon in the lower right corner of the video and you’ll be golden.

Leave a Reply

