New Beginnings

I’d like to think I know what I’m doing here. I’d like to believe I have this whole blog figured out, that every post is already sorted in my mind, that someone will find it useful, helpful, or funny. But I don’t. I’m embracing a future out of my control, as my wife and I did when we decided to start a family, and then, especially, once our daughter London arrived at 26 weeks gestational age.

I’m sure there are plenty of daddy blogs out there, right? I haven’t looked for any. I haven’t looked for any daddy blogs about life at home with a preemie. There might be some. What I’m saying is, this may not be an original idea, but if I’ve ever had anything worth writing about at length it was our, at first, traumatic experience in the NICU, and then the slightly calmer months spent there, and then our discharge and the starting of a new phase with London at home.

I’m a stay-at-home dad, three weeks into the journey, even though my daughter is 4.5 months old. She came home after 109 days in the NICU. I’ll write about that time. I’ll eventually write about it all, the past and the present, but not much of the future, as life since January, 30, 2014 has taught me many things, but one of the biggest lessons is that life, God, etc. doesn’t wait around until you’re ready. Sometimes life just smacks you for thinking future planning isn’t an oxymoron.

Welcome. I hope you stay around. I hope I write nearly every day for you and for me. I have a good feeling I’ll get something out of this. I hope you do too.

 

One thought on “New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

